no license needed


Kangana Ranaut has won numerous film awards, accolades and received many honours over the years. She has won multiple National Film Awards for her performances in Indian films. She has also been conferred with one of the highest order of civilian awards for her contributions to the Cinema.

The Padma Award


Padma Shri, is the fourth-highest civilian award of the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan, and the Padma Bhushan. The award is conferred in recognition of "distinguished contribution in various spheres of activity including the arts, education, industry, literature, science, acting, medicine, social service, and public affairs". It is awarded by the Government of India every year on India's Republic Day.

Kangana Ranaut conferred with Padmashri

Kangana Ranaut conferred with Padmashri On January 24, 2020. She is one of the youngest actors to be conferred with this prestigious award. Kangana Ranaut received the Padma Shri Award on November 08, 2021, at Rashtrapati Bhavan. She received the award from the President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind. ♥️

padmashree award    


Padma Awards
Kangana Ranaut
Honour Type:
Conferred On:
For Contribution To Cinema
Jan 24, 2019
Awarded On:
Awarded by:
November 8, 2021
President Shri Ramnath Kovind

Padma Shri Award

The Padma Shri Design

The award is made in burnished bronze with white gold embossing.

On its obverse, A centrally located lotus flower is embossed and the text "Padma" written in Devanagari script is placed above and the text "Shri" is placed below the lotus. "Padma", meaning lotus in Sanskrit, and "Shri", a Sanskrit-derived honorific equivalent to 'Mr.' or 'Ms.' (i.e., "Noble One in Blossom"), appear in Devanagari above and below a lotus flower. 

On it, the reverse side, A platinum State Emblem of India is placed in the center with the national motto of India, "Satyameva Jayate" (Truth alone triumphs) in Devanagari Script. 

Citation For Kangana Ranaut

Ms. Kangna Ranaut is an Indian film actress and filmmaker, who is widely recognized as an actress par excellence with a natural acting ability. Ms. Ranaut is known for her strong opinions on gender disparity, and inequality in film remuneration between male and female actors in the film industry, she refused million dollars brand deals for endorsing fairness products and male-dominated scripts. She emerged as a strong voice for women's empowerment in India. Her talent has captured the imagination of the masses. She is also credited as one of the most stylish and fashionable celebrities in India.

Kangana Ranaut Presented Padmashri by President Ramnath Kovind

2.  Born on 23rd March 1986, in Bhambla, Himachal Pradesh, Ms. Ranaut completed her secondary education at DAV school Chandigarh and her higher education in Himachal Pradesh. After completing her secondary education, she worked for an Elite modeling agency. Post which she joined theatre acting in Delhi and was a member of the Smita Theater Group under Arvind Gaur. In 2014, Ms. Ranaut completed a Screenwriting course at New York Film Academy USA.

3. Ms. Ranaut made her feature film debut in 2006 with a thriller movie 'Gangster', for which she received several awards. She received praise for portraying emotionally intense characters in the dramas 'Woh Lamhe (2006), 'Life in a Metro' (2007), and 'Fashion' (2008), for which she won the National Film Award for Best Supporting Actress. And after that Ms. Ranaut went on to become a part of many successful films like Once upon a time in Mumbai (2010), 'Tanu weds Manu' (2011), and 'Krissh' (2013). Cementing her place in Bollywood's pantheon as a leading actress of contemporary Hindi cinema, 2014 saw the release of the comedy-drama "Queen", for which she co-wrote the dialogues and won her a National Film Award for Best Actress. 2015 continued to be a good year for the Actress, with audiences enjoying her much-awaited releases, 'Tanu Weds Manu Returns' went on to become one of the highest female grosser of all time and she won her 3rd National Film Award for Best Actress for her dual role in the comedy.

4. In 2019, Ms. Ranaut made her Directorial debut by directing the critically and commercially successful film 'Manikarnika: The Queen of Jhansi’ (2019), in which she portrayed the titular warrior. It was followed up by a quirky acting role in the critically acclaimed 'Judgemental Hai Kya' (2019). Her latest acting role was in the movies 'Panga' (2020), and the biopic "Thalaivi" based on the life of Former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu J. Jayalalithaa, and her upcoming film named "Tejas" based on the Indian Air Force.

5. Ms. Ranaut is a follower of Swami Vivekananda and spiritual guru Sadhguru of the Isha Foundation. She is also known for her strong philanthropy work for Rama Krishna Mutt, and Kaveri Calling and supports many other charitable causes. Ms. Ranaut is very well known for voicing out her strong and honest opinion on many social issues and causes also considered the most articulate speaker and inspirational celebrity of her generation.

6. Ms. Ranaut has been a recipient of numerous awards and recognitions. Influential magazine Femina has declared Ms. Ranaut the most powerful woman celebrity in India in their Power issue for the month of August 2015 and in the same year, Ms. Ranaut also internationally represented India as the Face of India, at the Women in the World Summit held in London.

Official Detailed Citation


Padma Citation

Kangana Ranaut won this prestigious National Civilian Honour for her work and contribution to the field of art and cinema. The Padmashri is the fourth highest civilian honour in the country. After Nargis Dutt, Kangana is the youngest actor in Indian Cinema to win this award. ♥️


For Outstanding contribution to the field of performing Arts.


प्रदर्शन कला के क्षेत्र में उत्कृष्ट योगदान के लिए।



Learn More About Padma Award

Kangana Ranaut's Padmashri Award Citation   

Photo Galleries  National Award | Official Catalogues  | Media & Archives 

National Emblem of India

About Padma Awards

The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day. The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order), and Padma Shri (distinguished service). The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.

The Padma Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year. The nomination process is open to the public. Self-nomination can be made. Padma Awards, which were instituted in the year 1954.

The Padma Awards are given by the Government of India. The award seeks to recognize works of distinction and is given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields of activities/disciplines.